C.I.A. Officers and F.B.I. Agents – New York Times 2015

Proud special agents did not always see the value of analysts who did not necessarily build criminal cases — the traditional measure of success at the F.B.I. “At the end of my career, there was low-level tension between the agents and the analysts,” said Jack Cloonan, an F.B.I. agent from 1976 to 2002. “Who was running the case?”

Mr. Cloonan said the analysts did not always share the “camaraderie and esprit de corps” that agents had with one another. “Street agents are street agents,” he said, adding that he still heard grumbling from former bureau colleagues about some analysts who earn more than they do.

via C.I.A. Officers and F.B.I. Agents, Meet Your New Partner: The Analyst – NYTimes.com.

Leave a Reply

